The mine seems to have scant records before 1881, except for a tunnel driven 500 feet (153 meters) northward to intersect lodes previously worked to the east in Wheal Langford, Wheal Brothers, and Silver Valley. Between 1881 and 1883, under the name of Silver Hill, the level was extended by 280 fathoms (513 meters). This level intersected four lodes: Blend, Dreamer’s, Copper, and Wheal Brothers. However, it appears that none of these lodes yielded any significant value. Some development work was carried out on the Wheal Brothers lode above the level.
Publications (1)
Collins, J.H. (1912); Observations of the West of England Mining Region; 753 pages